I had a bone-anchored hearing aid (BAHA) implanted in 2008, 10 months after suddenly loosing hearing in my left ear. I’ve had the BAHA for over two years now, and though there is a lot I can say about it, I will save that for another post. This post is about the implant surgery.

I was a good candidate for surgery because I’d lost virtually all capacity to hear in my left ear from SSHL, I am young, and I have great hearing in my right ear. The implant is essentially a snap – one side of the snap is installed in the skull behind the bad ear, and one side is mounted to the back of the hearing aid. Once the BAHA piece in your skull is sufficiently healed (approx 3 months), you can snap the hearing aid to your head, and through bone conduction, hear sound from the deaf side of your head in your good ear. What an amazing technology!

The surgery is rather straight forward: The surgeon cuts a flap of skin at the site, removes the small amount of tissue between the skin and skull, drills slightly into your skull, and then drops in the implant. S/he sews the skin back in place and anchors a foam cover with a large plastic peg to the implant to stop the bleeding and start the healing process.

I woke up from surgery with a large plastic cup filled with gauze over the implant site and my left ear. This cup stayed on for the first 24 hours. The foam and peg looked a little grusome after I removed the cup. I was at home for a whole week after surgery taking antibiotics and pain meds, sleeping, and watching movies. I took the plastic cup off during the day, but wore it to bed at night.

At my one-week follow up appointment, my doctor removed the foam and plastic peg revealing the actual implant for the first time. Eight days after surgery, I was back in classes and at work. Healing progressed smoothly from there. The doctors recommend waiting three months to give time for the skull bone and implant to fuse. After the three month waiting period, the audiologist provided me with the BAHA hearing aid and showed me how to use it.

Waking up with an ear cup after surgery

Waking up with an ear cup after surgery

Protective foam attached with plastic peg

Protective foam attached with plastic peg

7 days after surgery, foam is removed

7 days after surgery, foam is removed

Healing - 2 weeks after surgery

Healing - 2 weeks after surgery

Healing - 3 weeks after surgery

Healing - 3 weeks after surgery

Healing - 4 weeks after surgery

Healing - 4 weeks after surgery

3 months after surgery

3 months after surgery

Wearing the BAHA

Wearing the BAHA

Wearing the BAHA discretely

Wearing the BAHA discretely